The ngVLA Technical Advisory Council (TAC)

TAC Overview

The ngVLA Technical Advisory Council (TAC) acts as the interface between NRAO and engineering and computing experts within the radio astronomy community, providing feedback and guidance as we move towards a final design for a next-generation centimeter-to-millimeter wave interferometer centered around the Very Large Array site on the Plains of San Agustin in New Mexico. A similar call for the ngVLA Science Advisory Council (SAC) was made in September 2016. The ngVLA SAC and TAC are cornerstones of a program to fully engage the astronomical, computing, and radio engineering communities to develop the ngVLA project for submission to the Astro2020 decadal review.

TAC Membership

Membership of the ngVLA TAC was selected to cover a broad range of expertise in relevant technical areas, such as antennas, low noise receiver systems, cryogenics, data transmission, correlators, and data processing and analysis. 

Current ngVLA Technical Advisory Council
Lewis Knee NRCC
Larry D’Addario JPL
Alvaro Gonzalez NAOJ
Tetsuo Hasegawa NAOJ
Yuh-Jing Hwang ASIAA
Stan Kurtz UNAM
Michael Rupen (co-chair) NRCC
Melissa Soriano (co-chair) JPL
Ex-Officio Members
Rob Selina NRAO (ngVLA Project Engineer)
Former Members of the ngVLA Technical Advisory Council
Dean Chalmers NRCC
Barry Clark NRAO (Emeritus)
Sean Dougherty JAO (Santiago, Chile)
Andy Harris Maryland
Jeff Kantor LSST
James Lamb Caltech
Sander Weinreb Caltech