The ngVLA Science Advisory Council (SAC)

SAC Overview


The ngVLA Science Advisory Council (SAC) is the interface between the scientific community and NRAO, providing feedback and guidance directly to the Next Generation VLA (ngVLA) Project Office on issues that affect the scientific design for a US-led, next-generation centimeter-to-millimeter wave interferometer, most likely to be centered around the VLA site on the Plains of San Agustin in New Mexico. In addition to the SAC, the ngVLA Technical Advisory Council (TAC) will work in parallel advising NRAO on technical design issues. The ngVLA SAC and TAC are the cornerstones of a program to fully engage the astronomical, computing, and radio engineering communities to develop the ngVLA project for submission to the Astro2020 Decadal Survey.

SAC Membership


NRAO is pleased to announce the membership of the ngVLA SAC. Membership was determined through open nominations and a selection process involving NRAO staff and the community. The current ngVLA SAC membership includes the following:

Current ngVLA Science Advisory Council

Name Affiliation Role
Andrew Baker* Rutgers University  
Ted Bergin University of Michigan  
Jennifer Bergner University of Chicago Co-Chair SWG 2
Laura Blecha University of Florida  
Geoff Bower Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics  
Sarah Burke-Spolaor West Virginia University  
Carlos Carrasco-Gonzalez* UNAM-IRyA Co-Chair SWG 1
Alessandra Corsi Texas Tech University Co-Chair SWG 5
Katherine de Kleer California Institute of Technology  
Imke de Pater University of California, Berkeley  
Megan DeCesar* George Mason University Co-Chair SWG 4
Mark Dickinson NOIRLab  
Maria Drout University of Toronto  
Gregg Hallinan California Institute of Technology  
Bunyo Hatsukade University of Tokyo  
Takuma Izumi NAOJ  
Megan Johnson United States Naval Observatory  
Joseph Lazio JPL  
Adam Leroy The Ohio State University  
Thomas Maccarone Texas Tech University  
Brenda Matthews* NRC-Victoria Co-Chair of SAC 
Brett McGuire* Massachusetts Institute of Technology Co-Chair SWG 2
Betsy Mills University of Kansas  
Munetake Momose Ibaraki University  
Cherry Ng SETI Institute  
Rachel Osten* STScI Co-Chair SWG 5
Erik Rosolowsky University of Alberta  
Nami Sakai RIKEN  
Rachel Somerville Flatiron Institute Co-Chair SWG 3
Alexander van der Horst George Washington University  Co-Chair SWG 4
Fabian Walter* Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie       Co-Chair SWG 3
David Wilner* Harvard-Smithsonian CfA Co-Chair of SAC/ SWG 1 
Anton Zensus Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie        
Ex-Officio Members
Eric Murphy* NRAO ngVLA Project Scientist
Alberto Bolatto* University of Maryland Previous Co-Chair
Andrea Isella* Rice University Previous Co-Chair


*Executive Committee Member

SAC Past Members

Past Members

Name Affiliaton Dates Served
Kelsey Johnson University of Virginia Nov. 2016 - Jul. 2017
Cornelia Lang* University of Iowa Sept. 2016 - Feb. 2019
Caitlin Casey University of Texas Nov. 2016 - Apr. 2020
Shami Chatterjee Cornell University Sept. 2016 - Dec. 2021
Laura Chomiuk Michigan State University Sept. 2016 - Dec. 2021
Danny Dale*
University of Wyoming
Sept. 2017 - Dec. 2021
James Di Francesco*
Sept. 2016 - Dec. 2021
Daisuke Iono NAOJ May 2019 - Aug. 2023
Kotaro Kohno
University of Tokyo
Sept. 2016 - Dec. 2021
Shri Kulkarni*
California Institute of Technology
Sept. 2016 - Dec. 2021
Laurent Loinard
Sept. 2016 - Dec. 2021
Mark Reid
Harvard-Smithsonian CfA
Nov. 2016 - Dec. 2021
Dominik Riechers* Cornell University Nov. 2016 - Dec. 2021

* Past Executive Committee Member